Zanzibar, Tanzania.

At the end of my first 6 months of fieldwork in Mbarara, Uganda in 2011, I decided to go on a small vacation before going back home to Canada for Christmas…to the cold and snow.

The transport to and from Zanzibar, Tanzania was my 2011 Christmas gift (thanks parents!).

I spent a few days in Stone Town and spent the rest in (what I thought was) the low-key northern beach area. It was still calm relative to other areas, but I was shocked to see the amount of sex tourism geared towards women, and the amount of Maasai men who have moved here (long ways from their homeland) to sell art on the beach and become part of this tourism industry. That being said, I just hung around, did a little diving and had a good time. Zanzibar, I also learnt, is quite the tourist haven for expats living in East Africa.

Sony Cybershot DSC-T90.

Leave a comment